Joe Henry9. April 2014

Beloved singer/songwriter and Grammy winning producer Joe Henry has confirmed the May 30th release of his thirteenth album “Invisible Hour” worldwide ex. USA, Canada on earMUSIC, his first since 2011's acclaimed “Reverie”. Produced by Henry, the album features numerous guests including The Milk Carton Kids as well as Lisa Hannigan, who co-wrote the title track along with Henry and best-selling novelist Colum McCann. 

“These are all, perhaps, ‘songs about marriage;’” says Henry of the album. “But I should hasten to add that that is a personal observance, and recognized much after the fact. That thread —of commitment, surrender, and hair-raising mystical alignment— does indeed snake through the whole in ways both overt and peripheral, literal and metaphoric. But though marriage as a notion moves like significant weather through its rooms, it is really the redemptive power of love in the face of fear upon which this house is built. Love is the story; and the characters paw lustfully after it –formal pairings notwithstanding.”

Recorded over four days in July 2013 at Henry's own Pasadena studio, The Garfield House, the album features Henry on vocals and acoustic guitar along with Greg Leisz on guitar and other stringed instruments; John Smith on guitar, mandola and backing vocals; Jay Bellerose on drums; Jennifer Condos on electric bass; David Piltch on upright bass; and his son Levon Henry providing all of the woodwinds.  Additionally, Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan of the Milk Carton Kids lend backing vocals throughout the album and Lisa Hannigan contributes vocals on "Lead Me On."           

The album follows a busy period for Henry who produced songs for Bonnie Raitt's Grammy-winning 2012 album “Slipstream” (including covers of two of his own), and produced Billy Bragg's acclaimed 2013 album “Tooth & Nail”. Henry also produced albums for Rodney Crowell and Mary Karr, Natalie Duncan, Hugh Laurie and Over the Rhine. In 2013 Henry released “Furious Cool”, his much-praised book about Richard Pryor's life and work, co-written with his brother, David Henry. 

Coinciding with the album release, Henry will tour all over Europe, kicking things off in London on May 28 before heading to Berlin, Barcelona, Amsterdam and other cities:

May 28, Purcell Room: London, GB
May 31, Moments Club: Bremen, DE
June 1, Quasimodo: Berlin DE 
June 3, Teatro Central Sala A: Seville, ES 
June 4, Teatro Lara: Madrid, ES
June 5, Luz de Gas: Barcelona, ES 
June 6, Escenario Santander: Santander, ES
June 7, Niemeyer Club: Aviles, ES
June 9, People’s Palace: Amsterdam, NL 
June 10, Handelsbeur: Ghent, BE 
June 11, DR Koncerthus: Copenhagen, DK 
June 12, BergenFest: Bergen, NO

1. Sparrow
2. Grave Angels
3. Sign
4. Invisible Hour
5. Swayed
6. Plainspeak
7. Lead Me On
8. Alice
9. Every Sorrow
10. Water Between Us
11. Slide