Joe Henry Go to artist
Joe Henry19/06/2024

Joe Henry announces reissue trilogy of three of his most celebrated albums ‘Civilian’, ‘Blood from Stars’ and ‘Invisible Hour’, which will be released through earMUSIC.

In 2024, Joe Henry is set to release three of his most acclaimed studio records for the first time on vinyl via earMUSIC, featuring a special selection of unheard bonus tracks as well as intimate demos and live recordings from his personal archives.

‘Civilians’, the first of the three, invites the listener on a journey into Henry’s poetic lyricism. While writing the album, Henry found himself going back to an old-fashioned approach of songwriting, starting most songs on acoustic guitar and adding significant production only later on during the process. Recorded in Henry’s studio in Pasadena, long time collaborators like Loudon Wainwright III, Bill Frisell, Greg Leisz and Van Dyke Parks have influenced the sound of the album alongside Henry. The reissue will be available at 23rd August 2024.

Pre-order ‘Civilians’ HERE

‘Blood from Stars’, Joe Henry’s 2009 record, sees him exploring the realms of orchestral blues and jazz. During the time, Henry was listening to a lot of country-blues and revisiting poems by writers like e.e. cummings – two forms of art that he says strongly influenced the sound of the record. With his evocative lyrics and soulful vocal delivery, Henry crafts a poignant narrative on what he calls one of his personal favorites amongst his own records. The reissue will be available at 18th October 2024.

 Pre-order Blood From Stars’ HERE

Rounding out the trilogy is ‘Invisible Hour’, one of Henry’s more recent works. Recorded in 2013, it features several of his closest musical companions, including Lisa Hannigan and best-selling novelist Colum McCann. Henry describes the songs on the album as “songs pertaining in some ways to the subject of marriage – marriage as a verb, not a noun.” The album tells a captivating story about resilience and the redemptive power of love. The reissue will be available at 6th December 2024.

Pre-order Invisible Hour’ HERE

All three albums will be pressed on 180g double-vinyl and additionally be made available as CD Digipak, for streaming and digital download via earMUSIC, with the official pre-order starting today.


Skip to content