Lloyd Cole Go to artist
Lloyd Cole07/10/2019


WATCH THE VIDEO HERE:[youtube]https://youtu.be/JNXTYSTlFbk[/youtube]

“Your guess, I guess

Is as good as mine

We could pool together

And be half right all of the time”

The Over Under by Lloyd Cole

Lloyd Cole’s new single ‘The Over Under’ (available now) is taken from Lloyd’s sensational new album ‘Guesswork’, which was released in July.

Lloyd has long been a fan of Bristol contemporary artists Harrison and Wood and contacted them to see if they would like to do a film for ‘The Over Under’. The self-styled ‘Laurel & Hardy of contemporary art’ were more than happy to oblige.

John Wood and Paul Harrison make single-channel videos, multi-screen video installations, prints, drawings, and sculptures that elegantly fuse aesthetic research with existential comedy. The artists’ spare, to-the-point works illustrate the triumphs and tribulations of making art and having a life. Wood and Harrison employ exuberant invention, subtle slapstick, and a touch of light-hearted melancholy to reveal the inspiration and perspiration — as well as the occasional hint of desperation — behind all creative acts. John Wood (b.1969, Hong Kong) and Paul Harrison (b.1966, Wolverhampton) met in 1989 at the Bath College of Higher Education, and have worked together since 1993.

‘The Over Under’, a sublime slice of 21st century synth-pop, sees Lloyd tackle middle aged angst with his customary wit and style.

Says Lloyd: “I was very nervous when I approached John and Paul suggesting they might enjoy the song and maybe they might make a film / music video, I was thrilled that they accepted, and I’m ecstatic with the result. It is simply perfect. If I have a regret, it’s that I wasn’t involved with our videos in the 80’s and 90’s. I was always too busy, it seemed, but really that’s no excuse and I have some very mediocre work to my name. I’m really enjoying the challenge these days and I’m truly blessed that great visual artists are happy to work with me. Now, how can I persuade Neil Tennant to be in one with me for ‘Moments and Whatnot’? and who will make it?”

The video for Lloyd’s previous single ‘Violins’ featured the video installation ‘The End Of Civilization’ by Turner Prize winning artist Douglas Gordon – [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dyw4pB_5RpU[/youtube]

Lloyd Cole will tour the UK and Ireland in October. Former Commotion Neil Clark will accompany him. The full list of dates is:

5   NEWCASTLE Tyne Theatre & Opera House
7   KILMARNOCK   Palace Theatre
8   ABERDEEN   Tivoli Theatre
10 DUNDEE    The Gardyne Theatre
11 HAMILTON    Townhouse
12 EDINBURGH Queens Hall
14 LIVERPOOL  The Philharmonic Hall
15 LEEDS   Town Hall
16 BUXTON    Opera House
18 BIRMINGHAM   Town Hall
20 SALISBURY   City Hall
21 NORTHAMPTON Derngate Theatre
23 BASINGSTOKE The Anvil & The Forge
24 LONDON   Union Chapel
25 LONDON   Union Chapel
29 KILKENNY The Set Theatre
30 DUBLIN  Vicar Street

1   CORK    Live At St Lukes
2   LIMERICK  Dolans Warehouse
3   GALWAY    Roisin Dubh
4   BELFAST   The Belfast Empire Music Hall

Tickets are available from http://www.lloydcole.com/live/

Lloyd Cole has released 14 studio albums including three with The Commotions [‘Rattlesnakes’ (84), ‘Easy Pieces’ (’85), Mainstream (’87)] nine solo albums [‘Lloyd Cole’ (’90), ‘Don’t Get Weird On Me Babe’ (’91), ‘Bad Vibes’ (’93), ‘Love Story’ (95), ‘Plastic Wood’ (’01), ‘Music In A Foreign Language’ (’03), ‘Anti Depressant’ (’06), ‘Broken Record’ (’10), ‘Standards’ (’13)],  one with The Negatives [‘The Negatives (2000)] and one with Hans Joachim Roedelius  [‘Selected Studies Vol. 1’ (’13)].

Skip to content